Issue Essay Statement:

Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Instructions:

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Universities have had, undeniably, a significant role in the holistic development and the burgeoning success in different aspects of the society all along the society's history, and understandably generates a good deal of attention from scholars, students and general public from around the world. The author suggests that, universities should offer free-of-cost university education to the students who are admitted to a university but are unable to meet the expenses of tuition involved. I mostly agree with the author's proposition because of two reasons, yet in some cases, the opposite might also hold true.

To begin, the universities - every single one in fact, should pledge to acknowledge and hence serve to realize the fundamental right of every student to study, because education is among the most important aspects of the society that ultimately underlines its success in every good sense imaginable. The universities generally take pride in producing skilled manpower the society requires for its growth and economic mobility, and if they can replicate the same in providing free education to the needy ones, they can be even more hallowed as they were before. Most nations in the world have guaranteed the right to education for their citizens, some even exempting the tuition fees for all levels of study, and which are successful in doing so have succeeded in creating a more civilized society. For example, most countries of Europe have implemented this policy, as a result of which they have one of the best literacy rates in the whole world, and are even regarded by many as one of the most civilized societies around the globe.

Furthermore, the investment in education, as most would agree, is not wasted unlike some other extravagant practices of the state. There are good examples that the country has upped their general status in economy and social well-being by investing funds in education: one such example is China and its burgeoning economy. The universities can always recover the expenses incurred in educating a student free of cost from alternative ways. The student who is privileged with such an opportunity may go on to assist the universities in the future as alumnae - all universities have these things obviously. If this policy is implemented by the universities, they may even profit great deal in the future, since the sentiment of the student related to the university will only be strengthened.

Even if it is true that the universities should, at best, make the tuition fees not liable to any student, the universities cannot always do the same even if they liked to on grounds of altruistic motives. It is because, since they are also administrative units, they incur a good deal of expenses in administration functions, creating and upgrading university facilities and equipment and other maintenance - in fact a remarkable amount of funds of a university may be invested in student research programs - they cannot completely oblige to the altruistic notions.

To sum up, since education is one of the most important needs of human beings, a student missing out on an university education just because he is poor and unable to afford those will be serious embarrassment to the states who have voiced education as the fundamental thing to a society. However, it may not always be possible because the world, after all, just cannot be run on emotions alone and the limitations of resources and funds rightly reflects that.