The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for the following reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that by introducing community service as a requirement to undergradguate and gradguate students they will become well-rounded and charitable members of society.

The argument fails to provide justification for the manner in which community service will impact students and casue them to become better human beings. The students may be participating in community service only to fulfill the university requirement. In such a case, the activity is not imparting them with any values as it is being done with the ulterior motive of fulfilling the graduate requirement. This renders the entire point of community service null and void. Had the argument specified how community service would impact a college student and transform them into a well-rounded human being, even then it would have to further prove that the student is not participating in the activity in order to meet the university reuirements.

The argument also leaves many unwarranted questions. Community service only impacts you, when it is done with the right intentions. We must help people, because we want to make a difference. Having to do it just to meet the university requirements takes out the essence of the activity itself. The minimum time requirements further attenuate one's motivation to do community service. This requirement is absolutely absurd as the argument does not justify how this particular trime frame of community service can produce a well-rounded and charitable individual. The time requirments will cause students to participate in the activity as a perfunctory task thereby rendering the whole idea behind doing the task useless.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that loacal charities in need will recieve the help that they need to continue their efforts. Since all the students will do community service just to meet the university requirements, they won't take that extra step to really make a difference. For one, the students may just spend time at community service until the time requirement is satisfied and not actually contribute in their time spent there.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted questions, it fails to make a convincing case that, by introducing community service as a requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students the university can produce well-rounded and charitable members of society and local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts.