Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author states that sound moral judgement is an important characarteristic of an effective leader, but it is not as important as a leader's ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers. The author's assumption is flawed in it's assumtion that the two notions are comparable. A leader's ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers is corollary to his ability to make sound decisions. Therefore, the ability to maintain respect of peers is appertenant to making sound moral judgement.

Leaders must have a moral compass in order make the right decisions. Leaders that exercise impaired judgement will definitely lead their people into a catastrophe.Moreover, leaders must make judgements in the best interests of their people, making decisions just to impress their peers destroyes the whole idea of being a leader. The primary goal of an effective leader must always be in the best interests of his people and not a selflish motive to please his or her peers.

Consider, Mahatma Gandhi, if he spent his time being a sycophant instead of making difficult decisions that would prove beneficial to his people, he would'nt have led the Indians to Inpendence. Therefore, an effective leader must favor sound moral judgement when given a choice between that and pleasing his or her peers.

A leaders biggest asses is his or her ability to make the right decisions in a precarious situation. Everyone can butter up their peer in order to get into their good books, but what distinguishes a leader from their rest is their ability to precisely construe a situation and contrive a plan accordingly. This ability is not just a skill but an asset that every leader we remember as great possessed.

On the contrary, it is important to be backed by your peers. The advice given by your peers can be beneficial, but, having said that, an effective leader must deliberate on his own after consulting with his or her peers. One must not make judgements aligned with their advice, just to please them.

Sound moral judgement and maintaining the respect of your peers are disparate duties of a leader but at the same time are appurtenant to each other as well. One can't be a wholesome leader if he or she lacks either. Therefore, when the ime comes to choose between making sound moral judgement and maintaining the respect of his or her peers, a leader must