The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer

people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the

public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following argument is flawed for the following reasons. Primarily, the argument claims without warrant that the main reason for fewer people attending Super-Screen movies is the lack of awareness among them, rendering it's main conclusion that by allocating a greater share of it's budget to advertising, they can can increase public reach, baseless.

The argument fails to provide justification for how increasing their advertising, can increase the percentage of people attending their movies. For one, the people may be well aware of the Super Screen-produced movies and still decide not to attend because they did not find the premise intriguing.

The argument also leaves many unanswered questions. The argument assumes that the primary reason for the lack of viewers for the movie is because the positive reviews by movie reviewers are not reaching them.Critics that review movies consider a number of aspects while reviewing movies.The common man's perspective to a movie is far more simpler. If the argument presented information from a survey taken from the common people to bolster their unwarranted assumption that their movies are of good quality, then their decision to invest more in advertising would seems far less absurd.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that increasing the budget for advertising can increase the public's awareness. The argument does not provide any evidence fortififying this assumption. The argument assumes without warrant that there is no possibility that their movies are of good quality. Having positive reviews from movie reviewers does not necessarily imply that the movies are of good quality. Therefore, amending the budget based on such unrealible evidence is absurd.

Beacuse the argument makes many unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that by allocating a greater share of its budget next year to advertising they can reach the public better.