Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader it is not as important as a leader s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree wi

There is no doubt that the sound moral judgement is a key to effective leadership. However, some masses believe that good leader's should focus more on maintaining the respect of their peers rather than giving good judgement. I strongly disagree with this viewpoint as the good leadership is based on sound and ethical judgement and a leader is always there for maintaining the respect of the society members rather than his or her peers only. Therefore, leaders should focus on the betterment and giving good judgement.

One reason for my belief is that companions of most of the leaders are selfish and self-centred and support the person to accomplish their motives. Moreover, some of them are corrupt and may suggest the honoured person to do something wrong and in order to maintain the integrity and fulfil the wishes of his or her peers leader me indulge in doing bad for the society. This as a result will disrespect their position and even results in the loss of leadership. To exemplify, according to a survey by a university among 60% of the corruption cases among leaders, there is a involvement of their team members and their decision making. Thus, leaders should undergo moral judgement in place of pleasing their peers.

Although it is true that a leader can work better with the help of its team members and can achieve the goals with their support and to achieve this they should have to take great care of their members and have good relationship with them, but if a better leader should have the capability to take a fair and a moral decision on its own, which can create peace and harmony in the society and helps in creating good relation with the members of the society. Furthermore, a good decision which can further result in progress of society can help in securing the position of the leader and also help in achieving respect from peers.

Perhaps, the overriding reason for my belief is that a leader have its own moral values and ethics and which helping the leader to take that position. There may be some views and thoughts which a leader keep in mind before taking that position and if during his or her period a leader keep on listening to the views of their peers then they may not be able to do what they want to do and for what they come on this position. For instance, CM of Punjab Working under the authority of CM of Delhi and usually follow the decisions made by him and this leads to loss in the respect among members of the society because they expect something else from their leader.

For all these reasons, I believe that leaders should have to give a sound moral judgement without the influence of their peers and make their society peaceful and progressive.