Laws should not be rigid or fixed Instead they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances times and place of the offence To what extent do you agree or disagree Give reasons for your answer

There is no doubt that the laws are essential for the well-being of the society as these helps in maintaining the balance among the various society members. Furthermore, in the situation of anarchy everything seems to be unbalanced and the situation can be made placid with the help of laws only. However, there is an ongoing debate that laws should not be adamant and need to be changed according to different situations. I strongly agree with this viewpoint because laws are made for the development of society and these need to be adjusted according to the different situations perceived for the actual progress.

The requirements of the people undergo change with time. To elucidate, with the progress of science and technology, the thinking level of the people changes and their life become more comfortable. So, there is need to change law which will help to take the best advantage of these developments. To exemplify, in this contemporary era with the incoming of different online technologies and facility of online education, laws should be made regarding incorporating online education in schools and colleges, as a consequence of which many students who are not able to commute to far off places can take its advantage. Moreover, it helps some poor students to complete their studies along with their work. Thus, laws formed should be changed according to the change in time and technology.

Moving further, laws are made according to the present circumstances and the situation. So, when such situations undergo a change laws should necessary undergo a change for the betterment of the society. For instance, during the situation of COVID pandemic, 2020, government of many countries imposed a complete shutdown prevailing to the situation of emergency, but these restrictions were slowly released with the decrease in the number of cases. If this doesn’t happen then many people may lose their life and if the restrictions were not relieved then it may results in paucity of food among various people and death from poverty. Thus, laws should be amended according to the present circumstances not only for the development of society but to maintain the good health of the individuals.

Perhaps, the overriding reason for my belief is that laws need to be implemented according to a given place. A change in place also needs a change in law according to the demand. Some places need more protection among others in relation to law and disorder, environment protection and likewise. For example, with the degradation in environment of Delhi due to excessive pollution caused by the lifestyle of the human beings, government has imposed various laws like even odd law for transport usage and many others to control the high level of pollution and safeguard the people. These laws have no relevance in other parts of the country where the population is below the marked level. Hence, laws must also be subject to change in place.

For all these reasons, I believe that laws need to be flexible and should be made according to the place, situation and circumstances. The change in laws is not made at a click of finger as it will diminish the importance of laws. There is need to have a protocol to adjust the laws as the situation prevails and every member of the society need to obey these laws strictly.