Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

There is an ongoing debate that it is not good to discuss to discuss controversial views with those having contrasting viewpoints as very small number of people are ready to change their decisions. Many people are dogmatic about their views and stay unyielding on their mind sets. However, many individuals believe that there should be change for the betterment of the society. I strongly agree with the former point as only few people change their minds rest all stay on their viewpoint due to ensure their dominance in the society.

Although it is true that change is necessary for the success of any place and human being and change brings with it new teaching, which may be good or bad, but many opinionated masses are in a view that change may affect their superiority among others. For instance, in any religion people are more asserted towards their scrupulous and do not want to change their thoughts and adopt any good deeds from other religion as it may diminish their dominance among the other religion. To elucidate, Hindus and Muslims never agree on their opinions and always tries to show their chauvinism. Hence, people are not flexible in changing their thoughts about others.

Perhaps, the most important reason for my support is that if these controversial views are discussed among the society members with constrained thoughts than it may lead sometime to hazardous effects which rather than supporting and helping results in decline and loss. To exemplify, according to a survey by an institution about 40% of the riots in history occurs because society members are forced to change their minds regarding various issues like woman empowerment and when they refused then it results in destruction and riots. Thus, people having contrasting views can make inappropriate use of controversial views.

There are some individuals in society that can support various points and adapt to change to receive various benefits in society, for instance, scientists can change various theories that may lead to further advancement in technology. In contrary, some individuals use these to have their own advantage. For example, if we encourage government to decrease the reserved seats then many students getting these seats may oppose the government to have their own advantage.

For all these reasons, I believe that controversial points are not useful to be putting against people having contrasting views because they may not be honoured by the individuals and some may misuse them for their own advantage.