Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Universities provide a plethora of courses for students to gain. The primary goal of the a University is to equip a student with skillset required for their field of study. Time spent on additional courses may bring down a student's performances in subjects they are truly interested in. Therefore, Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Universities are meant to provide students with the requisite knowledge to get a deeper understanding of the course that they are interested in. At the university level most people have identified what their career path is. So, if University syllabus for a particular course, contains courses that don't pertain to the corresponding field of study then it could end up burdening the student. If the student is not well versed with the course they may have to spend additional time in understanding just because this subject is part of the syllabus. On the contrary, suppose Universities did not require students to take courses outside the field of their interest then, the student could give their all for upskilling themselves in the field of their interest.

Consider a student who knows where their passion lies, it would be so enervating for them to study subjects that aren't adding value to them in terms of their career. Such a student may stop excelling in the subjects of their interest because of the addition al time needed to familiarize themselves with the subjects outside their field. Therefore, if Universities amended their course curriculum such that it provides only the skills and knowledge necessary to excel in the corresponding field it would be far more helpful to students.

Having said that, it is extremely important to have an all round development. These additional courses may even prove to be useful. Consider. A student interested in Computer Science who took a Finance class in a college. The knowledge they gained from that class can be used in a Computer Science project related to banking and because of this finance class the student will have the ability to give more specific and precise functionality as compared to someone who is not well versed in Finance. Additionally, these extra subjects may help a student who has not decided their career path and help them explore other fields. Therefore, it also important to remember that knowledge will always help you in some way or the other so we must strive garner as much as possible.

Universities should alter their syllabus to align with need and requirement of a particular field. Although having additional knowledge can be useful, it should not be gained at the expense of subjects that pertain to the field of study. Additional subjects, may be helpful for students who are still exploring their career choices, but most people at the University level have already decided on their career path. Therefore, Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.