The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument is flawed for the following reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that the cause of sidewalk rage is the use of cell phone on sidewalks, rendering it's main conclusion that by banning the use of cell phones on the sidewalk reduces sidewalk rage.

The argument fails to provide justification for how the use of a cell phones on the side walk can cause assaults and property damage. For one, the cause of such rage can stem from a number of other psychological reasons. Considering that there is no scientific evidence to bolster the notion that the use of cell phones cause sidewalk rage renders the assumption without bias.

The argument also leaves many unwarranted questions. The argument considers bumping into someone and assault to be commensurate with one another. Furthermore, it assumes that the primary cause slow pedestrian traffic is the use of cellphones. The slow traffic could be due to a number of reasons. Senior citizens also slow down pedestrian traffic, people with kids also tend to walk slowly so it is absurd to assume that the cell phones are the primary factor for disruptions in pedestrian traffic.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that because a ban in cell phones reduced the incidents of sidewalk crime in Centerville the same will hold true in Middletown. For one, the people of Middletown may have a greater population of senior citizens and teenagers who disrupt the pedestrian traffic irrespective of whether they use a cell phone. It is imprudent to assume that. Had the argument

provided data comparing the demographic of the two cities, even then the argument must first prove that the use of cell phone is the cause of sidewalk rage.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted questions, it fails to make a convincing case that by banning cell phones in Middletown, it can expect to mirror the sidewalk crime in Centerville.