A brilliant new idea seldom comes from just one person; instead ground-breaking new ideas develop when people with different perspectives can meet and interact.

The inception of a world-changing idea conforms over time as slow hunches rather than a sudden epiphany. The relentless quest to find something forms the pathway to a ground breaking discovery. When we look back at history we always see that the most life- altering discoveries were made by individuals rather than a group of people, this occurs solely because of the lack of belief. Let me elaborate, most of the inventors we venerate today, have been shunned in the past for thinking differently or out of the box, but that didn't stop them from making their thoughts and ideas a reality. It is this belief and faith in their invention that leads them to a ground breaking discovery. So, I believe that a brilliant new idea can absolutely stem from just one person and remains unaffected by new people and their perspectives.

A thought or an idea can be translated into reality with the right amount of energy and time. But, one thing that is more important is to truly believe in yourself. This relentless obsession of translating thoughts into reality has contributed to the many wonderful inventions we enjoy today. Every successful inventor has had absolute faith in their invention even when they were told otherwise. Consider Alan Turing, a British mathematician and cryptanalyst. During the Second World War, Germany used the Enigma machine to encrypt their battle messages so the enemy couldn't decipher the message even when they intercepted them. Alan Turing believed that only a machine could compete with a machine. His idea of building a machine to decrypt the Enigma encrypted messages was looked upon as a waste of time by his colleagues and peers. He still went on to build his machine and after he successfully built his machine, he led the Allies to victory in the Second World War. His invention shorted the war by two years and saved thousands of lives. Therefore, faith in one's idea is sufficient to make a lasting mark, other people's opinions are usually a projection of their disbelief or prejudice and provides no positive impact to the invention.

Opposing perspectives have a disastrous affect. Consider Galileo, a Greek philosopher who's discovery shattered the then belief that the Sun revolved around the Earth. This discovery was antithetical to the blinkered belief of the Catholic Church. The Church officials hanged him because he refused to change his belief. Opposing ideas, more often than not are inimical to one's growth and can have a catastrophic effect much like what happened to Galileo. Sometimes while exchanging contrasting perspectives the conversation gets heated to the point where the fact of the matter is forgotten and the conversation is more focused on vilification. Therefore, exchanging opposing perspectives are more harmful than helpful.

Having said that, the exchange of ideas can prove to be useful as long as the opposing perspectives are exchanged in a respectful manner and every statement is reinforced with logical explanations. Sometimes, being exposed to opposing ideas can get rid of any mind blocks or dogmatic beliefs one may have. It can even provide a fresh perspective to our problem. So, if opposing ideas are exchanged with the right intentions it can be an asset to the inventor.

A brilliant idea most often comes to a single person not because of their innate knowledge but because of their unshakable faith in their idea or thought. Persistence and perseverance bring thoughts and ideas to life. Having, conversations can help galvanize someone to make a ground-breaking discovery but not contribute to the discovery itself. Therefore, a brilliant mind with an unquenchable thirst to translate his or her thoughts and ideas to reality is all that is required for making a ground-breaking discovery.