The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

The statement within the Dean’s newsletter makes assumptions about the success of the community service requirement that are questionable.

1

First, the statement assumes that students will have enough time to both finish the project and perform well in their studies. Second, the argument assumes that local charities will benefit from the work done by the volunteers. Finally, the argument assumes that there are enough local charities to accommodate the students.

The argument assumes that undergraduate and graduate students will have enough time to finish the project and perform well in their studies.

2

The objective of a university, first and foremost, is to educate its students. If students are having difficulty with their coursework and truly need to dedicate their time exclusively to studying, then the community service requirement may cause them to perform poorly in classes. Furthermore, some students have jobs and may need to earn money to pay for their education. They simply cannot afford to spend the 8 hours per month necessary to fulfill the requirement and work to pay for their education.

Local charities may be in need of volunteers, but those volunteers should be eager to work for the charity. Some students may be eager to volunteer their services, while others will only be completing the volunteer work because it is mandated.

3

Therefore, the local charities may not receive the benefit of productive workers. In fact, the students may be unproductive to the charity’s work and their work environment.

If the Dean is going to require students to do community service, then there should be enough local charities to support the project. Unfortunately, the dean makes the assumption that there are enough charities to support the school’s proposed requirement. Given the number of students that must complete the project, there may not be enough charities in the area. Therefore, some students may not get the opportunity to complete the requirement or they may be delayed in their graduation from the University of Wabash.

The argument presented in the Dean’s newsletter makes assumptions that should not be overlooked. Students and local charities may suffer from this project, as opposed to benefiting from it. Students may not have the time to complete the project; local charities may not be able to accommodate such a large number of students; and local charities may not necessarily benefit from the student’s work.