"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Competition has become an essential part of our society nowadays, everyone is trying to compete in various fields to be the best one standing with eminent skills. But, at the same time, this kind of competition leads to damage to mental health which can lead to consequences as well as limits one from achieving his goal. Though to some extent I agree with this point considering other factors.

Firstly, when young people try to compete with others they tend to lose the value of leadership as they try to acquire a smug nature which makes them selfish and also makes them adamant. Because of the same reason, they won't listen to anyone in the group and will lead to conflicts. For instance, if leaders of different countries were taught the value of cooperation in leadership then they won't have disputes instead there would have been a peaceful agreement.

Secondly, competition leads to damages be it related to mental health or the economy. Since, when countries try to compete with each other they don't take account of the consequences they would face because of that instead they try to achieve it at any cost which can lead to great damage to the economy and the resources. As well as when people try to compete with each other and fail to achieve the goal that others did they try to take wrong and imprudent decisions like drugs, suicide, etc. which lead to mental or physical health damage. But, if cooperation was taken into account it could have worked as a panacea to these situations and would have helped them to become a better leader or person at last.

Although, cooperation can also stem people from proceeding in the right and assertive direction since competitions can help them to develop at full capacity and gain new values which would help him to become a better leader since one would be able to imbibe a lot of insights that they have lacked in and can bring better results in the command. It can be viewed from the past that due to the competition each country was able to grow at a faster pace since the leaders didn't only believe in the cooperation part which would have lead to futile results.

All in all, there should be a proper balance between both the factors since having one quality in greater amounts can be devastating and can lead to bad and futile outcomes. Also, to be considered we can focus a bit more on the cooperation part since the issues nowadays are becoming more complex and difficult to solve as they can lead to damage and conflicts.