The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

The newsletter states that engaging undergraduate and graduate students in community services would help them gain real-world working experience and would also help local charities at the same time. The assumption made over here is lacking concrete evidence since engaging in charity work won't necessarily help students since there can be many discrepancies while they would be a part of it.

Firstly, the argument has a vague description of the real-world working experience since there is no proper understanding of what kind of role would be provided by the local charities as well as it's not necessary that they would give them some work where they would have to deal with the clients or have to collect people for the work. This shows how they would lack in providing the students with real-world experience as the role provided to them may vary.

Secondly, the argument doesn't take the students mood into consideration as there would be some of them who would just do the work for completing the graduation since it's necessary for them and this would lead to a lack of enthusiasm and concern which can affect the charities progress at the same time.

Moreover, It's not necessary that all the students can get work in the charities since they didn't mention the number of seats available or the number of charities that would be willing to work with them which would leave some of the students with no work and can affect their graduation.

All in all, there are many factors which are not been considered while making the assumption since it's not necessary that every student would be willing to do the work with full energy, at the same time this would not necessarily help them with the kind of experience the university is trying to provide them.