The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the journal article above the author draws a conclusion that birth order effects an individual’s levels of stimulation in certain situations based on observations made for rhesus monkeys and similar correlations found among humans. The author says that first born produce more cortisol and hence more stimulation to certain situations. However, the author fails provide clear evidence that this is in fact true. In the following paragraphs these limitations are explored.

First of all, there is no mention of the sample size taken for the study. If the number of monkeys taken for the research is small and not indicative of the total population, the results very well may not represent the actual trend. It could be that only by chance the trend for firstborns with higher cortisol was noticed. In reality there may not be any noticeable relation. In fact, there bay be an opposite trend when larger sample is studied.

Also, the article fails to mention the test conditions under which the experiment was carried out. For instance, the situation may have been more stimulating for the older offspring than those arranged or encountered by the younger offspring. Or perhaps the older offspring were mentally developed beyond the younger offspring and having more experience to actually understand the importance situation better leading to increased stimulation!

Then again if we are to actually look for a cause in this article as to why this correlation exists, there is none given. And correlation doesn’t mean causation in general. For the observation to mean something a definite explanation has to be given as to why the correlations exist. For example, one could take the number of road accidents in an area and correlate it to number of homes saying more homes equals more accidents, however that would not be true.

Also, the article draws a similarity between human children to the monkey offspring but once again humans and monkeys are not the same thing. And studying one with the expectation that it would give similar trends to other inherently injects bias into the study. There is also a throw away line about first time mothers having elevated cortisol. This line serves no purpose as to proving or disproving the previous statement. Not to mention the fact that no explicit reason for this correlation is given.

In conclusion the study results can be explained by many factors. Inherent bias injected into the study, no actual underlining reason given for the relation, small sample size etc. And in order for the article to firmly support its claim it must provide concrete and definite proof of the underlining reasons for this trend.