The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument provides a recommendation that similar change-using the declining residential area on opposite side of the city for industrial use-can attain the same consequence that were achieved ten years ago in city of Transopolis near the freeway. However, this suggestion is rife with holes and assumptions, for which argument provides no evidences. To prove the veracity of the recommendation, these evidences need to be presented.

First of all, in order to link the expansion of industrial area with reduction in crime rate and proliferation of property tax revenue of the city, the argument must provide details of the study that proves the generality of this link. Currently, argument isn’t sufficed in doing so. There can be multiple possible reasons for the later change. We don’t know that. Increase in police protection in the area then or economy going up can be some possible reasons that can debunk the veracity of the argument’s claim. Also, even though the changes were attributed by the expansion of factories in the freeway ten years ago, no evidence proving the generality of the case is presented. Presently, in opposite side of the city, there may not be any crime whose rate can slump. We cannot generalize the ramification until we have a detailed description of current scenario of the opposite side of the city.

Basing on the implication that construction of factories could reduce crime rates and increase property tax revenue ten years ago, author of the argument needs to show evidences that nothing has been changed in the last ten years. For all conditions-economy, security-remaining the same, the argument can then be deemed for it’s recommendation. Without the aforementioned evidence, we would not know the extend to which the recommendation holds true. There can be possibility that economy isn’t in the right shape now as it was ten years ago. Therefore, expanding factories will do little or no good for the property tax revenue. Or maybe the police security now is thriving in the city unlike the ten years ago, when there was no security at all. In that case, expanding industries will have no effect on crime rate.

Also, the author assumes that people staying the declining residential area will be interested in moving to the nearby neighborhood. We don’t have any survey that specifies the people’s interest and also the living condition of the neighborhood. Without these evidences, author can’t correctly say that people in the declining residential area will be agreeing to move. Without them moving elsewhere, adapting residential area for industrial use is not possible, even if the above stated assumptions are proved true.

In summary, the author’s recommendation will only hold true if the aforementioned assumptions are proved by giving necessary evidences. If evidences are not presented, the argument will fall apart.