The following appeared in a report of the Committee on Faculty Promotions and Salaries at Elm City University.

“During her 17 years as a professor of botany, Professor Thomas has proved herself to be well worth her annual salary of $50,000. Her classes are among the largest at the university, demonstrating her popularity among students. Moreover, the money she has brought to the university in research grants has exceeded her salary in each of the last two years. Therefore, in consideration of Professor Thomas’ demonstrated teaching and research abilities, we recommend that she receive a $10,000 raise and a promotion to Department Chairperson; without such a raise and promotion, we fear that Professor Thomas will leave Elm City University for another college.”

In the report at Elm City University, the author is recommending that Professor Thomas should receive the raise of $10,000 apprehending that Professor Thomas will go for another college. The author concludes the above statement based on Professors popularity in the college and research abilities, helping the university to receive many research grants. However, before the conclusion can be easily assessed, the author should address the following assumptions

First of all, it is assumed that professor’s classes are among the largest which makes Professor Thomas more popular. Perhaps the university has more number of seats for Botany course compared to other courses. Additionally, it can be the case that a student can easily get admission in the Elm City University for the botany course and thus this scenario substantiates the former one. If the above mentioned scenarios prove to be true, the author’s conclusion may get weakened.

In addition, the author assumes that the professor received research grants which valued more than his/her annual salary for two years provide sufficient evidence to increase his/hers salary. However, since 15 years, professor was not awarded research grants exceeding the salary. It can be also the case that the professor could have not contributed towards any research areas. Thus one cannot say that receiving research grants greater than the salary back to back for two years, can get the professor desired raise in the salary. So if these above scenarios are true, the conclusion of the appraisal doesn’t hold true.

Finally, the author is assuming that without the appraisal and promotion, the professor would leave the college and supersede another college. Well, it can be the case that the professor is passionate about teaching students and he/she is indifferent of the salary being provided. Furthermore, it can be the case that the the professor wants to become a kind of celebrity in the university who wants to break his/hers own record of teaching the number of students because he/she is enthusiastic about it. Thus, if these scenarios prove to be true, the author’s contention is weakened.

Therefore, in order to arrive at the fearfull apprehension that the professor would change the college, the author should address the above mentioned three assumptions in order to make the report viable.