The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues here that the number of headaches will decline with the new usage of salicyates as a flavor additives to for food. Stated in this way, the study fails to mention many several keys on the basis it could be evaluated. In support of this conclusion, the author noted that the decline in number headaches are declined based on a reports from study participants. However careful scrutiny to the evidence reveals little credible support for his expectations. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that that all foods are naturally rich in salicylates. This is merely anassumption made without much solid ground. For example, ehat are these foods? are those foods eaten a lot by Mentia resident? hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it had stated these types of foods.

Secondly, the authors cite that food-processing companies usually add the salicylates to foods as preservatives for many years. This again is a weak support for their conclusion as it doesn't show the correlation between using the salicylates as preservatives and as a treating additives to the food. To illustrate further, Is the dose added to food processing enough to treat the headaches? If the study had provided more information about that, it would have been much more convincing.

Finally, the author noted that the decline in number observation is based on a reports from residents who are only participants in the study. This raises many skeptical questions, Why the study did not implemented a normed survey to prove the number is really in decline? Are those participants represent a wide range of Mentia residents? How old are those participants? Without answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the study conclusion is not true.

In conclusion, The author argument Is unpersuasive as it stands for. To bolster it further, the author must provide more information about the doses of the cylicates. They must provide concrete evidence that new use as flavors will help in declining the number of headaches. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, It would be necessary to know information about those participants as well.