The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Study says that with the new found use of salicylates as a new flavour the average number of headaches will decrease in Mentia. He presents this case because Salicylates belongs to the same family as aspirin and also the reports of the twenty year study. However the following issues must be taken into account before a reasonable conclusion can be drawn out.

Firstly , Although Salicylates and Aspirin belong to the same family there is no guarantee that they show the same properties. Maybe Aspirin helps to reduce headache whereas Salicylates may not have any effect on headache. An example is that of methyl and ethyl alcohol which belong to the same family but methyl alcohol is dangerous and extremely harmful whereas Ethyl alcohol is used in various medicines and also as a beverage. If the is true then the basic assumption on which the report is based could be false.

Secondly, We can see that there has been a twenty year study that states the steady decline in headaches with rise in use of salicylates. Maybe the people who took part in the survey were leading less stressful lives than the average person. Maybe the survey was biased towards old aged people who had less headaches and experienced less headaches. It could also have been the case that the food habits of the people surveyed were not considered.

Generally, Too much of anything is bad for health and could have the opposite of the intended effects. Maybe salicylates in limited quantities as a preservative could aid in less headaches whereas as a flavour in large quantities can be very potent and in turn cause more headache. If this is true then it would end up causing more headaches, which is the opposite of the intended effect.

Lastly, There is no guarantee that the people of Mentia would prefer processed food over natural organic food. Maybe Mantia is situated in a rural part of the country and people prefer homegrown natural food over pre-processed food. Maybe the residents on Mentis are more health conscious and do not prefer preserved or artificially flavoured food. If this argument is true then the report doesn't hold water.

The Study is severely flawed with a lot of inherent bias and unwarranted assumptions. If any of these above assumptions is true then the report would be wrong. If the author is able to answer all the above questions with more evidence( scientific and systematic surveys , models followed by other competitors), then it is possible to fully validate the viability of the proposal the report has proposed.