The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The author states that a letter from the parent of a private school student was sent to the principle complaining regarding the food quality provided by the new vendor, Swift Nutrition. Parent in his letter has mentioned that his son and his friends were complaining that the food is not 'enjoyable'. I feel that parent has overlooked the nutrition values the food has and instead concerned more about food to be 'enjoyable'.

It is not mandatory that every food has to be enjoyable and maintain its nutrition values at the same time. Sometimes, in order to maintain the fat and calories, less sugar is added to the food which makes them less tasty or enjoyable. Children like more of sweet and junk food which taste good rather than food with less taste but more nutrition. I feel parent should not blindly believe what students are saying. Instead, they must visit the cafeteria and inspect the food quality and its nutritional values.

The parent who wrote the letter, claim the food to be of low-fat and low-calorie without any personal inspection. Students might be correct, but he assumed everything to be correct. He further states that if such food is provided then students will have to bring less healthier food from their homes. His assumption that home food is less healthier is completely wrong. In fact, no food is healthier than home made food. Cafeteria food will always be incomparable to home food. So, there is no harm in brining home food for lunch. On the contrary, it is better if students can bring their won food from home.

The parent also states that if Swift nutrition is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students. Here, he will be absolutely true if, the food provided by Swift is really low in fat and calories. I appreciate his concern for the students. Principal should consider his request and check with the food. parent should also join the inspection of food in order to see what he wrote to the principal was actually true or not.

Thus, we can conclude that the assumptions made by parents based on feed backs from students may not be correct. He should have substantiated his request properly. Cafeteria food often are less enjoyable to the students, it is an open fact. This does not mean food is lacking nutritional values. However, based on student feed back, an inspection of food should be scheduled soon and parents should also join the same for proper scrutiny.