The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument presented is not convincing. The author fails to acknowledge key factors on the basis of which the conclusion can be evaluated. The author concludes that it is better to replace Swift Nutrition to safeguard the health of the students based on the evidence that some of the students carry their own unhealthy food to avoid eating at Swift Nutrition. The argument fails to highlight information on the subset of the people not liking the food of Swift and how the alternatives currently available will help resolve the situation. Thereby, resulting in a logical gap between the premise and the conclusion.

First of all, the author has failed to mention the alternatives available to Swift Nutrition. There is no denying to the fact that children must be given a balanced diet in order to meet their nutrition requirements. Thereby, closing down Swift Nutrition as they offer low-fat and low-calorie diet is going against the good will of the students. The author must try to find some common ground between what the students wish to eat and what is being served to them. For example, Swift Nutrition can have a eclectic collection of food items. A small portion of food which is liked by students can be introduced in order to encourage the students to eat healthy.

Secondly, the author fails to mention the alternatives to Swift Nutrition, a key concept omitted in the argument. For example, if the alternatives to Swift Nutrition are offering the same variety of food, then the whole purpose of replacing Swift Nutrition will be nullified. How the alternatives will help resolve the current situation? The author fails to provide answers for these questions. Had the author provided explicit information on the food being offered by the alternatives the argument would have been more convincing.

Thirdly, the author fails to mention the subset of the students who are unhappy with the food at Swift Nutrition. Is the subset of students large enough to extrapolate this information? or is the number of students who feel this is significant enough? Without responses to these questions, the conclusion of the author feels to be based on wishful thinking than on substantive evidence.

The author presents an interesting hypothesis. However, the data provided in the argument is not adequate enough to justify the reasoning of the author. The long litany of fallacious reasoning seriously jeopardises the claims of the author. Nonetheless, with answers to the subset of students facing some an issue and how the alternatives will help resolve the current situation, the logical gap between the premise and conclusion can be tightened.