The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meal

The argument drawn by the parent states consequences of replacing management of the cafeteria to Swift Nutrition, which serves low-fat and healthy food. In the argument, the parent reaches to the conclusion that if the management of cafeteria is not replaced, it will be serious health consequences for Kensington students. This conclusion is based on certain assumptions and if these assumptions turn the other way round, it may weaken the conclusion drawn by the argument.

The argument states that the students do not find food of cafeteria enjoyable after Swift has taken over the management of canteen. This argument is based on what the son of the parent and his friends thinking. It is not clear that how many students is covered under the son's friends. If the friends are consist of only 5 percent of the total students, it is very difficult to state that students do not find the food of the cafeteria enjoyable. If the argument states any numbers of how many students do not find it enjoyable, then we can come to certain conclusion.

The parent also states in the argument that the intent of hiring Swift for management of cafeteria for serving low-fat and healthy food will not be fulfilled because the students will bring their own unhealthy lunches and will not have food from cafeteria. There are two assumptions for stating this particular statement. It is not clearly mentioned why Swift is given the management of the cafeteria. It is absolutely possible that Kensington hired Swift as it was taking less money for management of cafeteria. So unless we know the actual intent of Kensington behind bringing Swift, we can't state that Kensington will not succeed in its intention. If the intention behind bringing Swift is just to save money, even if students do not take lunches from cafeteria, it will serve intent for Kensington.

Second assumption in the above stated argument is that plan of bringing Swift for cafeteria will cause students to bring their own, unhealthy lunches of their own. But it is also possible that students will continue to bring their own lunches regardless of what company is managing the cafeteria. If argument tells about how students started bringing their own lunches after the Swift has taken over the management, it will strengthen the argument of the parent that the students may not bring their lunches if Swift is not managing the cafeteria.

These were the assumptions underlying the argument that Swift Nutrition may cause serious health consequences for Kensington students. If the arguments gives conclusive evidence of the assumptions, it will strengthen the argument. Otherwise, we can not accept the conclusion drawn by the parent in his argument.