Mass media and internet have become the inevitable part of our life now. From last 10-15 years, internet has changed many of our experiences to a whole different level. But by what extant internet and mass media has impacted our lives? Is the impact is beneficial or it is a curse? We will discuss it and the we will come to the conclusion.

With the boom of internet and mass media, now our life has become very easy. We are able to connect to our friends sitting thousands of miles away in seconds. We can get the news of all over the world in minutes. Now, the one thing that mass media has done is that you are given bunch of data. You are given whole lot of data and you are not able to decide what you should really focus on. There is ample of information available on the internet. So you need to decide what you really want to consume.

Some people think this as a curse. You are given the large quantity of information and you need to figure out on your own that what information is really affecting you and what is relevant for you. But in a way, it is a good thing rather than considering it as a bad thing. Now you have the control what you want to get. If you do not like particular piece of content, you will not watch it and you will switch to other content which is relevant to you. This was not the case earlier. Before internet and mass media, you were given the information whether you like it or not. You did not have the control on what information you want to get. You were given the information forcefully regardless of you want that information or not.

Now, with the internet and mass media coming into the picture, this situation is changing. Now you have large quantity of information available. Now you are the boss of what you want to get. For example, if you do not like the information that one TV Channel is giving, you have now thousands of other TV channels available which will be giving information of your interest. This also helps you to develop ability to process large quantity of information and only focus on the information which is important to you. Now, with social media in boom, you can watch any piece of content that you want to watch on your smartphones/laptops. If you want to learn any new thing, just search about it and you will get plenty of information about it. Then you will have to decide what is important for you. This also helps in new content creation because the creator will also create more content that people is enjoying.So it is win-win situation for both the creators and the consumers.

So, in conclusion, we can say that, with mass media and internet, now people have developed the ability to filter out the information that is important to them and they can focus on only those things rather than focusing on all the other irrelevant information. Which was not the case earlier.