The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper.

"Membership in Oak City's Civic Club---a club whose primary objective is to discuss local issues---should continue to be restricted to people who live in Oak City. People who work-in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot truly understand the business and politics of the city. It is important to restrict membership to city residents because only residents pay city taxes and therefore only residents understand how the money could best be used to improve the city. At any rate, restricting membership in this way is unlikely to disappoint many of the nonresidents employed in Oak City, since neighboring Elm City's Civic Club has always had an open membership policy, and only twenty-five nonresidents have joined Elm City's Club in the last ten years."

The author of this argument recommends that Committee should only allow residents in the city to be its memberships. To justify the recommendation, the author provides the following fact. Oak City residents pay city taxes, so they must able to be members of committee. In addition, in a recent meeting one who cites foolish objections, this show that they can not fully understand business and politics in the city. Therefore, if all members of committee are residents, the city will be better place for living and working. Scrutiny each of these facts, however, reveals that none of them lend credible supports to the recommendation.

First, the author mentions that none-residents members cannot comprehend the conditions, because a member who does not live in city has foolish idea. Nonetheless, it is entirely possible the idea of this non-resident member was logically, while other member could not comprehend it. In addition, the idea may put other members’ interest in the line. Moreover, if their idea was foolish, the author cannot generalize their conclusion to other all non-resident members in committee. Without considering these possible scenarios, the author cannot conclude that non-resident members can not understand business and policies in the city.

Second, the author claims that committee must be consisted of members, who live in the city, because they pay city taxes. However, letter fails to adequately support the claim that since only residents pay local taxes only they truly understand local business and political issues. In fact, it is quite possible most of people do not have enough knowledge about business and politicians, or even residents pay more attention on their profits instead to vote idea, which benefits for the city. Since the author provides no information of cause-and-effect relationship in this matter, his assertion can not unacceptable.

In the third place, the author climes residents can live and in a better condition, if all members in committee live in the city. Nevertheless, it is not necessarily the case. Progress of the city depend many factors such as industrial factories, educated members of committee, and economic conditions.

In sum, the argument is flawed logically and therefore unconvincing it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide information about what a non-resident member cited in the committee. In order to evaluate better the conclusion it would be better to know more about the city’s condition, and its facilities.