The following is from a memo from the advertising director of the Super screen Movie Production Company.

According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

Although the concerning voice in the given statement is sincere, the argument significantly lacks its power in objectivity of analysis as well as its support for causal relationship between decreased consumers and lack of advertisement.

The very fundamental logical fallacy in this argument is the absence of numbers and percentages. Without specific counts and statistics, it is impossible to make any empirical observation and analysis of a phenomenon. Compared to previous years, how less in counts or what percentage decrease in consumers had occur in the past year? Are those counts and percentages retrieved from limited sources (e.g., a few locations on westcoast where the company's movies are featured at), instead of from every possible sources (e.g., every contracted location across the U.S.)? The argument is completely absent of such information, therefore, its conclusion is completely unreliable. Without an objective understanding of the situation, how can one be certain that the abatement in last year's consumers is critical enough to increase the budget in advertisement? Such faulty decision could result in a further financial loss.

Furthermore, the argument completely neglects the fact that regular consumers and professional movie critics are not comparable consumers. While the regular consumers often go to be movies for entertainment purposes, the professional critics reviews movies for its artistic, philosophical, and economical values. Regardless of how beautiful and profound a movie is in the eyes of a sophisticated professional critic, it may be merely boring and unrelatable to general public. Therefore, it is not surprising that that the general consumers and moview reviewers show ed such differing reactions towards the same movie. Thus, reflecting on the professional reviewer's thoughts on the movie content while analyzing the reduction in regular consumers is completely illogical.

Last but not least, there exist numerous confounding factors to this phenomenon and the argument is simply blind to those. General consumerism is highly influenced by the national economic status. The United States has constantly struggled with high unemployment rate, increasing public debt, and local business being destroyed by monopoly. That being said, the reduction in movie consumption may be one of the natural consequences of the general public suffering from such economical hardships; people are struggling and entertainment activities are no longer priority.

Hence, the argument must provide objective information of counts and statics and better causality, in orde