The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces A study reports that in nearby East M

The argument stands on number of unstated assumptions to recommend a daily intake of beneficia to improve over all health. The recommendation finds basis on the study conducted in East Meria. Taken as a whole, the unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if the assumptions do not hold true the argument totally falls apart.

First of all, the authors of the news later relate a study in east Meria with better immunity to colds. The underlying assumption being that survey indicates a uniform consumption throughout the east Meria, high consumption correlates to better health, Beneficia consumption has no ill effects, and no other factors contribute towards the health of east Meria populace. To begin with the study very vaguely relates high consumption of beneficia to better health in people of East Meria this is very disputable as no specifics are provided regarding uniformity of the consumption. Hence, this assumption is clearly falsified. The study methodology is also not provided to test it for sample size taken, demographics and other factors included are sound or not making the study suspicious. The resulting conclusion that the high consumption relates to better health need not be true. A high consumption may also lead to accumulation of unwanted chemical compounds in the body of consumers. The low consumption might be helpful for health but otherwise this insidious accumulation may lead to serious problems later. The study also overlooks other factors that might be at play for the better health of east meria people such as regular exercise, healthy diet and a healthy lifestyle. Unless, the authors at West Meria Public Health Council are able to validate and verify above stated assumptions such recommendations should be avoided as they might prove deleterious for the populace of West meria.

Secondly, the authors relate the absenteeism at work and schools to colds only. This is a very narrow outlook on public health and an unfair assumption. Public health is affected not only by cold but by also a variety of other factors at play such as pollution in the area, cleanliness, mosquito bred diseases and health hygiene habits of the populace. To discount these factors would be very unprofessional of the West Meria Public Health Council. A thorough look at the patients treated in the West Meria hospitals is needed to determine the main diseases of concern that are prevalent in the area. Then identify the chief causes of those diseases and counter them in the required manner. Unless these possible concerns are addressed the authors assertion to hold cold as the key factor in absenteeism at work and schools stands null and invalid.

In conclusion, it can be said that the argument makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed the argument falls apart and the recommendation to increase daily intake of benficia to west Meria residents might prove deleterious.