'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Here a business manager of a television station has recommended some steps to generate more viewership and retain the revenue that it fears losing, by negating the new changes that were made in the nature of news broadcast and to switch back to the old broadcasting of the weather and local news for their late night program Though the reasons mentioned by the manager looks valid and it does have some unwarranted assumptions that needs to be probed further before the managing committee makes the decision

One of the reason claimed by the manager is the complaints received by the station from the viewers on the coverage of the weather and local news. Any change to the routine is always an unwelcome one. We humans need time to adapt to the new changes. Could this be the case here as well? If the station had been broadcasting the weather and local news for years now and suddenly decided to switch the nature of the news, then this would be definitely a drastic change for its old viewers who are still trying to adapt to the new change in broadcasting the news. Agreed that the complaints were raised but what exactly were the viewer's query or complaints - were they unhappy with the quality of national news being broadcasted? Were they simply enquiring on the new timings of the local and the weather news? Since we do not know the nature of the complaints that were raised, a definite conclusion cannot be made on this one basis

In any decision making situation especially when dealing with revenue, what matters the most are the numbers (statistics!). Have the complaints increased against the total viewership? are complaints raised by new and genuine viewers or the complainst are from the notorious viewers who like spamming the service providers?

As per the local businesses are concerned, the managing team needs to evaluate the factors that led to the cancellation of the contract. The factors can be numerous - it is possible that they did not receive the safistactory results in the previous campaigns and hence decided to discontinue with the contract. This shift in the late night news program was not earlier mentioned to them and being a local business it makes sense to run a advertising campaign while the local news and weather is broadcasted. The cancellation of the contract could be the failure of the station to provide them with any alternative prime time slot for the advertisment.

The manager's one of the main agenda is to increase the viewership this can done by implementing various other factors that can set them apart from their counterparts. For example having a talk show woth the local successful businessmen, joint discussion between the mayor and the community.

Since statement provided by the manager has so many unwarranted assumption, it would be foolhardy to take the decision before evaluating each of the concerns raised above.