The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The increased coverage of national news has allegedly resulted in more complaints from the viewers and loss of several business contracts with the local businesses and thus the business manager wants to restore the time devoted to different news items to before the change. Unfortunately, the reasoning in the memorandum has some holes in it and requires some careful re-evaluating.

The business manager says that the most number of complaints received after the new time divisions concerns about the coverage of weather and local news. But the memorandum failed to mention what the most complained about items in the years before, it may entirely be possible that the quality of the weather and local news coverage has always been dodgy and the viewers had always had complaints about it. It is also possible that some other issues coincided with the changing of the time devoted to various news sections, maybe along with the coverage time, the quality of the coverage itself has degraded which prompted the viewers to lodge more complaints. It can also be the fact that because of the advent of some other forms of news sources, such as new and improved software weather applications and alternative source of local news has emerged and the quality of the television stations news coverage can't satisfy the viewers anymore.

The other reason for the television station wanting to go back to the old coverage time level is that several local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts with the television station. But it doesn't mention what their complaints are. Probably it's because they have found some alternatives to advertising on the television station - some cheaper, more engaging source, where it makes more business sense for them to advertise their business. This can work in conjunction with the reasons I delineated in the first paragraph above. Maybe because the viewers are not watching this television station like they used to do because of the degraded quality of the news content, or because there are some other sources from where the viewers are getting their news now and it makes more sense for the businesses to advertise their products there to attract more customers.

In conclusion, it might be true that the television station is receiving more complaints from its customers regarding the coverage of weather news and local news and local businesses are canceling their contracts after they enacted the new timing, but it may be just a coincidence or there might be some other underlying reasons. So, without hastily restoring the time devoted to different news items it'd be better to look for the actual causes for the complaints and canceling of business contracts.