'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will prevent the loss of advertising revenues is unwarrented through a number of glaring flaws. The basis of this argument is based on an assumption containing vague language that may not actually indicate there is a problem with the decrease in weather and local news. In addition the assumptions do not provide real data or numbers to substantiate their claim that decreased weather and local news time created a decrease in viewers. Finally, the author confuses correlation with causation in that the decrease in local news and weather coincided with the cancelation of local advertising contracts. Due to these flaws the argument is unfounded.

The argument implies that attracting more viewers will prevent a loss in advertising revenue. In order to attract more viewers the implication is that the late-night news program should restore the time devoted to weather and local news. This assumption is based on the evidence that after the swap to increased national news that "most of the complaints recieved from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news." This evidence, however is too vague. It simply states most of the complaints were concerned with the coverage of those two topics. In fact, the concern could be that the coverage was still too much! Or perhaps the coverage of the weather and local news was done by an anchor they don't like. The evidence does not explicitely specific that the complaints are due to a lack of weather and local news coverage.

Additionally, the primary evidence does not provide data that would indicate the current complaints are significantly worse than before the coverage change. In the event that all the complaints were about the lack of weather and local news coverage, this still does not provide adequate evidence for the authors claim. The evidence states that "most of the complaints recieved from viewers...". This statement does not demonstrate that that these complaints were more than the complaints from before the coverage change. For example, after the coverage change there may have been 20 complaints about the lack of coverage. However, prior to the change there may have been 100 complaints about there being too much coverage of weather and local news. The lack of data does not provide a proper representation of the late-night news viewers opinions. Even if there were more complaints after the change, we would still want to know more data on how many complaints were done per person. For example, there may have been 100 complaints prior to the change done by 100 different people. After the change there may have been 200 complaints done by the same 5 people. Although there were more actual complaints it would not be appropriate to say that the viewers were happier prior to the change as only 5 people complained post-change whereas 100 people complained pre-change.

Lastly, the author mistakes correlation for causation when assuming that attracting more customers would prevent advertising revenue loss. After the change the program noticed that local businesses canceled their advertising contracts with them. Since the program did not specifically say that the cancelations were due to the change in coverage, we cannot assume this correlation suggests causation. It is entirely plausible that the advertising budgets may have just been cut across the board and regardless of viewership of the program, the businesses would be unable to continue advertising with the news program. In addition, the businesses could simply be changing their advertising strategy away from television channels and towards other social media or digital avenues.

Ultimately, these major flaws render the author's argument that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level to avoid losing further advertising revenues unwarrented.