The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a memo from the business manager of a television station, it was recommended that the late-night news program should allocate more time for weather and local news, and less time for national news. It's on the assumption that local companies were unhappy with late-night advertisement due to lesser weather news time, complaints from the public over broadcast time of weather news and more people will tune in to watch weather forecasts than national news. However, the proposition to increase weather news time can be deemed viable only after providing evidence to the below assumptions.

Firstly, local companies are bailing out from advertisement due to lack of weather news may not be completely true. What if the companies are suffering huge losses and to cut expenses, they are stopping advertisements? In this scenario, the companies may never return to advertisement irrespective of the news type. What if the companies aren't affected by the type of news, rather the quality of news projected? One cannot conclude that the local companies are gonna return to advertisement by increasing weather time. There needs to be evidence that the companies have cancelled the contracts due to lesser weather news. The television station should therefore contact and discuss the reasons for cancelling the contracts with the local companies before taking the next plan of action.

Secondly, it's assumed that the complaints from the public with respect to weather and local news is only on the air time. What if the complaints are on the quality of news being projected? What if people are not satisfied with the way weather news is being broadcasted and need a complete make over? In that case, increasing the air time of weather news will only add to the complaints of the public. One cannot attribute complaints to a particular factor without carefully going through each complaint. It's necessary to have a statistical data covering different issues, and if the number of people complaining over the lesser air time of weather news is high, then the recommendation can be deemed valid.

Thirdly, the goal of attracting more users just by increasing weather and local news time may not be achievable. What if people are acquainted with watching national news at night and scrape through the weather news? It would be a big change for the viewers and may result in them not watching the news channel anymore. What if, the weather news time is increased but the quality is not attributed? which may result in many dissatisfied viewers. If there's a request from the viewers to have more of weather and local news time than national news, then the same can be incorporated. Assuming people would like more of weather news and lead to increased viewers may result in losing the current viewers and would be catastrophic.

To conclude, the recommendation is based on a number of afore mentioned unwarranted assumptions. Relevant data and evidences are to be carefully collected and analysed before concluding on increasing the weather news air time. Until then, the argument shall remain flawed.