'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The reason why restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level is a bad decision is because it based on the assumptions written by the business managed of the television station and there are many loopholes which can prove all his points invalid.

The first and foremost point which would make his argument invalid is, he based his assumption on the fact that local business have cancelled their contracts with the channel since they changed their schedule. There are various reasons why the shops might have cancelled their contract with the chanel like there might have been a rise in expenses due to inflation in the country and in order to cut down on costs, these small local shops might have decided that chanelling their advertisement cost somewhere else would be more beneficial for the business. Another reason why they might have cancelled their contracts could be because the chanel was charging a high price for their ads and the shops found a better chanel or cheaper source of advertisement than the chanel in consideration. It is also possible there might have been some feud between the chanel and the local shops regarding the advertisement standard which would have led all the local shops to cancel their contracts.

The second reason that would weaken the authors points is that he mentions that all the complaints that they received from the viewers were.... This statement does not prove that the complaints were about the change in the schedule. The viewers might have been complaining about the inadequacy of the chanel in the coverage of weather and local news. It could be that the content they were showing on their chanel might have not been up to the mark and the viewers wanted something more from the chanel.

It is common knowledge that people like to follow a schedule in their life and when this schedule is disrupted, it makes their lives somewhat uncomfortable. Thus when the chanel decided to change its schedule, the regular viewers of the chanel who watched national news on the chanel everyday where taken aback which the weather and local news coverage. And since they were habituated in watching national news, they found it unsetteling and wanted to go back to the old schedule and hence they complained. But over the course of one year they would become habituated to this new scedule and thus changing back to the national news would cause the same problem again.

Thus, the above mentioned points weaken the authors argument and thus prove that changing from weather and local news to national news would be meaningless.