A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

A nation should require all of it's students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I as a student do not agree with this statement and there are various reason due to which following the above mentioned path may prove to be harmful.

The first and foremost reason why I am against this idea is because not everybody is built the same. Every individual has a unique identity and thus forcing everyone to follow the same curriculum will do more bad than good. For example if a student is more inclined towards art and dance, and the national curriculum forces every student to study particular subjects like physics, chemistry, and maths; that student might not do well in school and might be labled as a failure which is untrue since his passion lies in something else. It would be the same like testing a fish and a monkey on how fast they climb a tree.

The second reason why this recommendation is a bad one is because teaching everyone a similar course would make their minds parochial. Thus schools would turn into factories producing homogeneous products. This in turn would mean each student would want to enroll into the same stream in similar colleges which would cause a scarcity of in the number of seats available at that particular college. For example every student is forced to study economics, therefore the nation only produces economist and there would be no other professionals available in the nation. This would cause an abundance od economist but a scarcity of doctors, engineers, artists, dancers, etc.

Another reason why I disagree with this recommendation would be that students who coming from a different country wanting to enroll in a college, in a nation where every student is taught the same curriculum, would have to face a lot of stringent rules regarding addmissions because they might not fit the criterion which the college would want. The international students might have studied art and the college would want a prior degree in maths which would automatically cancel the students application since he doesn't fit the nations level of education critria. This would bring down the number of international students enrolling in the colleges and also would affect the reputation of the colleges of that nation.

One might say that this recommendation might be for the best for students since following a similar curriculum all around the nation would ensure a level of equality in the standard of education delivered to each and every student; but this point can be easily refuted by saying that although the curriculum would be the same, it would be taught by different teachers, to different students, in different situations and thus the final delivered lessons would be very different. Albeit every student in the nation would learn 1+1, but each student would learn it in a different manner.

In conclusion, I believe that following such a rule in a nation with wide range of diversities would not be a good choice. Every student is different and this difference should be respected. If a particular curriculam is followed, students would be forced to do something they do not take interest in. The schools as said earlied would turn into printing presses, printing the same things a millions times. Thus students should be given the liberty to choose whichever curriculum they associate with. This would help the students make headway in their choosen fields because they would be studying what they love the most.