The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author claims that the news channel must restore time devoted to weather and local news to avoid losing advertising revenues and attract more viewers. The author does not provide substantial evidence to concretely support this claim.

The author mentions one of the reasons to make this shift is because local businesses that used to advertise during their late night news program have cancelled their contracts. However, it is not clear what instigated local business to cut off their ties with the channel. It could be possible that the local businesses had some internal conflict with the the marketing team of the news channel.

It is also mentioned that there were major complaints received from viewers concerning coverage of weather and local news. If we had information about what were the complaints regarding and what were the other set of complaints by the viewers, it might be possible to understand ways to increase viewership without the shift. The viewers might be complaining about false coverage by the local news reporters. If that is the case, then devoting time to local news might exacerbate the situation.

There is no information about the impact of devoting more time to national news in the last one year. Could it be possible that due to this shift, there was an increase in the number of viewers of the late night news program. If so, then shifting the focus would cost them viewers directly.

From a bird's eye view, this decision for the company might seem pragmatic but it can be proven hasty if the author does not take into consideration other factors involved. One way to do so could be to conduct a survey amongst their viewers and know their opinion directly. the channel could also try understand the reasons behind local businesses cutting contacts with them. For the benefit of the stakeholders, it would be efficient to focus on other factors involved and then make a sound decision.