The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the co

The memorandum is discussing the problem that is faced by the television stations' overall progression and economic growth. The memorandum is illuminating the problem, the cause of the problem, and giving the solution. It is highlighting the cause of the problem: changing in the timings of the programs. As a result there is a downfall in viewers of the station, and most of the viewers are complaining about the whether and local news. It also affects their advertising contracts ,that is, many of the advertising contracts are cancelled. The memorandum also proposed the solution that reversing the timings can solve the problem. However, on scrutiny the author has presented flawed conclusion.

Many points given in support of the view of the writer are not convincing. Assumption that the viewers are complaining, due to change in timing is not persuasive. There can be many other more weighted reasons as well; such as, there is a possibility that when this change is happened, in that time period, the type of viewers might have changed; therefore, the new population might have new taste, as an example: the new viewers might like some entertaining programs rather than the news, or they might be interested in comedy news etc.

Nevertheless, another reason for the downfall of the television station could be that by the passage of time many other stations could be more active than this station. The quality of other stations' news might be more good, authentic, and flimsy than the station mentioned in the memorandum. In addition, there could be more content on the other channels than on this channel. Furthermore, the author mentioned that there are complains about the weather and local news, and the assumption (for this complain) given is: It is because of change in timings. Nonetheless this assumption is again not convincing, as there is a possibility that the complains could be because of the quality or the content of the news. The news regarding local and whether could be of some other location and not of the local area, due to this reason there could be complains.

Moreover, there is another problem mentioned, that the television station also lose its' advertising contracts, The authors' assumption of timings is not credible. The reduction in profit due to lose of advertising could be because this station might be charging more than another station. Eventually the advertising contracts prefers other channels.

The argument is flawed and the conclusion cannot be accepted based on the evidence and reasoning provided.