The following is a memorandum from the business

manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has

devoted increased time to national news and less time

to weather and local news. During this time period,

most of the complaints received from viewers were

concerned with our station's coverage of weather and

local news. In addition, local businesses that used to

advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore,

in order to attract more viewers to the program and to

avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we

should restore the time devoted to weather and local

news to its former level."

One needs to stay aware of the news around, to remain aware of one's own surroundings. Weather news helps farmers to make proactive decisions in growing crops and taking care of their fields, and local news keeps the common man aware of all that is happening in his neighbourhood. There is a need to stay aware of what's happening around us, even at the national level. While it may seem that the public is disinterested in the national news, there are some arguments that need to be considered before concluding such a sentiment.

First of all, the viewership of the late-night news program must be compared before and after the increased time of national news. Speaking in general terms, people usually tend to relax at night, most often sleep during late nights and even if they don't sleep, they will tend to watch something fun or make plans for movie nights and so on. The author doesn't compare the prevalent viewership and the current, and simply blames the increased time of national news to be the cause for its complaints regarding coverage of weather and local news which might have caused a lower viewership on the station.

Secondly, the author assumes that the complaints received from viewers regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news are directly related to the broadcast of this news on the late-night news program. For all we know, the news coverage during day times for these weather and local news was biased and not factual. Such news coverage would not only seem unfaithful but also raise discontent in the viewers. If the stated argument holds true, then the news station needs to introspect its own weather and local news coverage before making changes to its programs.

Moreover, it assumed that this change in the time schedule of news has made local businesses retract their advertising contracts. But it may very well be the case that the local businesses have realised a low viewership during late-night programs and that the public tends to watch other exciting media during the night and have considered this contract to be a waste of money and hence focus their money on channels with higher viewership for their brand publicity.

To conclude, if any of the stated reasons stand to be true then there is a need for the television station to look inwards at the functioning of the news station and its active viewership during these late-night programs, questioning the actual causes behind the reduced advertising contracts and the complaints received against weather and local news.