The following is a memorandum from the business

manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has

devoted increased time to national news and less time

to weather and local news. During this time period,

most of the complaints received from viewers were

concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and

local news. In addition, local businesses that used to

advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore,

in order to attract more viewers to the program and to

avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we

should restore the time devoted to weather and local

news to its former level.”

It is stated in the memorandum presented by the manager that,the Weather forcast and Local news is being overshadowed by the national news program also the possible reasons for this consequence and measures to be taken in-order to restore the condition to its earlier format.The manager draws these conclusions based on three unwarrened assumptions which,if are not backed with enough evidence would weaken the argument.

Firstly,the complaints reagarding the coverage of weather and local news would not directly imply towards the importance of forcasting it on television for a longer duration.It could be fair possibility that,a certain region with turbulent weather would ask for a more frequent weather forcast.Similarly with local news,a region with not much miscreane happenig around would be more inclined towards watching national news than local news.The complaints might be from this region which has been assumped by the manager to be from a larger audience.

Secondly,the cancellation of advertisement contracts is being directly linked to the time devoted to local news.Where as,the possibility of local businesses adapting to a different and more effective way of advertising could be the case.This could be the reason behind the shift of local business advertisers,and if the possibility turns out to be true,conclusion made by the manager does not hold water.

Lastly, the manager claims that,restoring the program timings to the earlier pattern would attract more viewers,where as, this claim is not backed by enough evidence.It seems a fair possibility of lossing the existing audeince due to shift of program timings,moreover the audeince endulging in national news could be agitated and result in a bitter reputation of the new channel as a whole.

Although,the manager provides reasons to support his claims,perhaps they are not backed by strong material of evidence such a statistical data or regional survey.If the required is mentioned it would support the argument in the form of evidence ,in that case the argument made by the manager would hold water.