The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The manager memorandum about restoration of the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level in order to increase the view count and to avoid further lose of advertising revenues is flawed and based on many assumptions. The main assumption made by the manager is that decreasing the time for weather and local news is the only main and sole reason for losing advertising revenues which may not be the case.

The manager has considered decreasing the time duration for weather and local news to be only reason for its losing advertising revenues. Lack of evidence is provided in this case to assume that decreasing time duration of the weather and local news only has led to losing advertising revenues. It might be the case that advertising firms may have found to invest in another television station to be profitable.So proper evidence is needed to evaluate the cause of canceling of advertising contracts with the television station.

Secondly, the manager has not mentioned the type of complaints that are received from the viewers regarding the weather and local news. It might be the case that there is some discrepancy in their news data. If complaints are about the decrease in time duration for the weather and local news then the argument made in memorandum by the manager can be strengthened. So the type of complaints received by the viewers needs to highlighted by the manager.

The manager has also not mentioned the amount of time duration that has been decreased for the weather and local news as "less" is quite a relative term and it could be said that the decrease might be not that significant and accounting the cancelling of advertising contracts due to this amount of decrease will not be reasonable. If the decrease is significant than it might strengthened the argument made in the memorandum by the manager.

In conclusion manager memorandum is flawed and has many assumptions which needs to be strengthened by providing evidence for decrease in time duration for weather and local new to be only reason for cancelling of advertising contracts, specifying the type of complaints received by the viewers and specifying the amount of time duration decreased for weather and local news.