The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the compl aintsreceived from viewers w ere concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to theprogram and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.” Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above memorandum from the business manager emphasizes on the idea that because of reduced time period of local and weather news there is a decline revenues. The memorandum also states that because of reduced time period many local businesses have canceled the advertising contract.The above argument is rife with holes and rests on some unsubstantiated assumptions and is unpersuasive as it stands.

The first two sentences of the memorandum suggests that the late-night news program devoted more time to national news rather than local and whether news because of which the news channel received compliants from the users. The above statement is vague because the word most doesn't clarfiy the number of users who registered a complain regarding station's coverage of local and weather news. Also the the memorandum doesn't specifically mention the timestamp of the complaints registered.There is a possibility of a complain being registered at afternoon or evening which is an invalid complain when compared with the statement made.

The third sentence of the argument suggests that the during the same time period many local businesses have canceled the contracts with the station. The above statement is absurd because it nowhere provides an evidence that it was because of the reduced time that local's canceled their advertising contracts. There is a possibility that the local businesses might be facing a situation of recession because of which they aren't having enough budget to continue advertising. There is also a possibility of two business getting merged into a single one because of which they are forced to cancel their advertising contracts.

The last sentence of the argument is a conclusion made without considering all the facts and figures. The station seems to restore the time devoted to weather and local news which is spurious as it doesn't take into account reports and documents.

Therefore the above memorandum from the business manager shouldn't be taken into account as it does not have documents or proofs attached with the memorandum to bolster the argument. The above argument is false as it does not consider the statistics and just rests on some unsubstantiated assumptions.Therefore the station should continue with the increased time period to national news and reduced time period to local and weather news for time being.