The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument argues that for the business of television station to prosper; to attract more viewers to the program and avoid losing any further advertising revenues, the station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

Stated in this way, the arguments fails to mention several key aspects on the basis of which it could be evaluated further. To justify this conclusion, the author reasons that they are facing a stampede in their business because of its client retracting from its chanel. However, a careful scrutiny reveals that it provides a little credible support to validate the author claims. Hence, this srgument is incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author readily claims that occurence of event happened over year year before and it would likely forsee the same intended effects. This is mere a assumption without a solid ground. For example, one year is a long period and a lot of changes might have occoure. Perhaps, the people have realised that national news is of greater significance rather than local and weather news. Maybe, local news are full of fallacy and scandal and merely severes any useful news. Another reason might be weather news is not so important as in the weather of the place remains constant so, its a moot to have a watch over weather neews. Hence, if the author had provided more convincing reason that the conditions are same this duration and the weather is very unpredictable, it would ahve been more convincing to the readers.

The argument readily assumes the author also cites that what happened for this particular television station would happen to a general case. This again is weak and unsupported claim as it fails to demonstrate a correlation between this particular ancetodal evidence to the general case. To illustrate further, mayble where the television station is situated people might have a strong inclination towards weather and local news over national news. Other business might be doing good as people are happy for such a change as they believe local news is full of scandals.

In conclusion the argument is unpursuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide a more concrete evidence, perhaps in the form of detailed survey involving the poll globally. Finally, to better evaluate this claim, it would be better to indicate that there have been no changes happend over one year duration and the demographics of the country should have been mentioned.