'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum, the decision taken by the manager to restore the time previously devoted to weather and local news seems quite apt but st the same time do leave space for the opportunists to cast severe doubts on the argument.As evident from the various complaints claimed by the managers regarding the coverage of weather and local news which certainly does not provides adequate supporting proof in order to say so with certainty that the decision taken is quite correct in the given context. Moreover,the retraction of the advertising contracts by the companies which are claimed by the company are not accompanied with the justification for the cause of such a course of action and these revoking of the advertisement contracts in the late-night shows and are assumed to be due to decrease into time for weather news.

In the opening statements of the argument as put forth by the manager, the claim that the complaints regarding the weather and local news is not justifiably accompanied with the relevant quantitative data to back the claim in order to put a concrete case where these complaints may be limited to a certain small region of the country and would not affect the revenues of the company even if ignored for which an adequate weighing of the situation is not presented in the argument. Moreover,it may also be the case that the television station has a unique stance in delivering the local news which do not reciprocate in the national news that is being broadcasted which is cherished by the people. Lastly, it may also happen that there are invesmany news channels which do broadcast the national news but the concerned news channel is the only channel which communicates the weather and local news indifferently.

Apart from these chores ,the revoking of advertisement by the local businesses as stated must be backed with enough qualitative or quantitative data in order to claim the effect is to due to a decrease in timings with certainty.As it may also happenthat the viewership of this late night show is relatively less when compared to the shows broadcasted during the day time as a result of which the investment in these day time shows seems to provide more revenue than advertising in the late night show . These aspects can surely cast doubt on the argument for making claims in the thin air and trying to bring about a policy for personal gains.Alas, the cause of the decision taken by these businesses should be investigated by discussions with them in order to forecast the appropriate course of action.

In concluding this remark about the argument, I would say that the above argument can adequately be strengthened if backed by appropriate figures and redefining the scope of the argument will help to look into previously unexploited corners of the argument.