The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The argument the business manager presented in the memorandum while having so partial merit, lacks validity due to the information given is rife with holes and false interpretations. The conclusion of increasing time devoted to weather and local news can temporarily profit the station but in the long run, it might cause to lose more profitable opportunities.

First of all, The information provided by the business manager lacks statistical validity due to modicum of data. The percentage of complaints received in contrast with the percentage of whether the viewership increased or decreased is a must requirement for the assessment. Due to the lack of valid information, one can assume that even though there are complains about cutting time for weather and local news, the total viewership increased due to the increased time to national news. This in turn, can become more profitable for the television station.

Moreover, the manager states the the amount of profit acquired from the advertisement is decreasing as the local businesses are taking away their advertising contract. But, the memorandum fails to provide us with the information about total advertisement revenue of the television station. Due to increase of national news and probably increased national viewership, the business revenue might increase due to popularity climb in national form. The argument should follow-up a strong statistical contrast between advertisement revenue earned from national advertisement to local advertisement in order to come to this conclusion.

Furthermore, The author fails to provide any reason and argument about why the weather information should get more time in the news program. The information of weather broadcasting in a loop is redundant and might be somewhat irritate the viewers. Increasing time for weather information might even cost valuable viewership and in turn, lack of popularity will cause advertisement revenues.

In contrast, it is undeniable that a local news program should support local business interests. This argument supports the notion that increased time in local news will peak the interest of local viewership and thus the business advertising will attract major consumers. In addition, the local viewership of the television station will tune in and support the station from emotional value, which might be somewhat profitable.

In conclusion, even though the local business interest peaks if the program provides more face value to local news and weather, the ultimate goal should be increasing the viewership in a national level. So, it can be inferred that the recommendation of the business manager is only a short time remedy for tackling local complaints. Because of the notion that he approach of allocating more time in national news can be more advantageous in the long run, the recommendation is flawed.