Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Formal education is such education that is conferred by educational institutes for students of a particular society. While it can not be denied that this sort of education conveys general knowledge to students, its demerits are also prominent.

Students and younger generations are the backbones of a society. Education molds the mind of these generations for the future. Formal curriculam should be designed so that a student can enlight himself/herself with the basic attributes of being a social being in this cosmopolitan world. A good knowledge of what is wrong and right, what responsibility lies in the world, basic knowledge of how everything works etc. should be taught via formal education. While the intention is there, execution of formal education today seems eschewed.

To elaborate, "pass the exam"- seems to be the main point forayed to the student by the educational institutes. The teaching-learning method became depended upon acing tests, instead of gathering knowledge. For example, we can take the education system in the developing countries like Bangladesh. The curriculum there puts students under extreme pressure of homework and constant tests, whereas the norm should be having an interaction based knowledge and fact sharing. Tests are designed mostly based on memory based questions, whereas tests should be designed to determine understanding and analyzing. Mind of a student can not expand without proper teaching-learning experience.

In contrast, if we take developed countries like Japan into account, we can see that their learning method is based on hands-on experience. Students are learning responsibilities through cleaning their classrooms after class, ethics through helping elders in a institution once a week, science through experiments. Also the curriculum is constantly updated based on the need of the society. The tests are intricately designed to enable creative thinking and disable over memorizing.

In addition, Collaborative study instead of cooped-up classroom studies enables students to muster up innovative solutions and ideas. Increases teamwork and broadens their mind to tackle modern day problems. While it is not recommended that all formality should be given up in the education, but, evidently stringent education system does nothing but constricting the vast intellect the students have in them.

In conclusion, there should be a flexible education system, which can be a mix of formal and informal teaching-learning. Certain rubrics should be followed in designing curriculum and tests so that student will not feel immense pressure. Collaborative and free form of tackling real life problems should be introduced in the education system to broaden their mind instead of constricting their intellect using banal methods.