Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the anthropologists recommendation about furthur research is respectable, the method they cited do not formulate any cogent case due to lack of evidence of advantages it might provide. It is easy to accept the conclusion of requiring further reasearch on the matter due to the contradictory evidences provided by Dr. Field and Dr. Karp, but the part of the conclusion where it specifically recommended the interview-centered method seems to be lacking evidence.

First of all, the author fails to provide any in dept analysis of the observation methods applied by Dr. Field. As a noted anthropologist, his studies based on observation-centered approach should have some criteria and specification. Without proper evidence provided against his methods, the author indirectly claims that Dr. Fields analysis is erroneous. For proper Scrutinization of his work, methodology and data provided in his work must be brought into light.

Additionally, by similar fashion, acceptance of Dr. Karps interview-centered methods are controversial due to lack of proper data. Without revealing the format of the questionnaire in his method, we can to concretely justify his methods. Moreover, data of the number of children interviewed are not provided in the paragraph. Without conducting interview of a certain number of children, the statistical science will not allow such format of study to be credible. Thus, the recommendation will not be viable in practice.

Moreover, extensive scientific studies proved that children are usually psychologically attached to their birth parents. So, the conducted study by Dr. Karp might be the result of this phenomenon. While the study might contain some legitimate indication of the children being brought up by their parents, this scientifically proved phenomenon of children's psyche exerts some doubt into its conclusion.

Building upon the implication that only Dr. Karps method is legitimate without extensively debunking Dr. Fields conclusion is also not a valid scientific method. To find out the actual answer of the rearing of the children in the island of Teria, a more valid scientific method backed up by proper amount of statistical data and analysis must be performed. For these reason, while the recommendation of further study on the subject is justified, the specific citation of the interview-centered method lacks credibility.