The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author of an article argues that because of increase in time covering national news and decrease in time covering weather and local news has caused an increase in the number of complaints concerned with the station's coverage of the weather and local news and a decrease in the number of advertisement contracts. To overcome this, the author plans to attract more viewers by expanding the coverage of weather and local news on all news programs. Though the underlying argument certainly has merit, because of a lack of evidence, weak assumptions, vague language the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. some of the flaws are as follows.

Firstly, the author while relating the increase and decrease of coverage with the increase in complaints about the local and weather news has not stated any evidence about the same. For example, it might be reverse cause and effect situation in which due to increase in complaints the author has planned to cut the coverage of weather and local news.

Secondly, the author while relating the cancellation of advertising contracts with the change in the late night program content has not presented any data in evidence to support the given statement. For example, if the advertisements contracts were cancelled because the advertisements were not broadcasted as per the schedule and the owners of the specific brands were not happy with the approach of the news channel.

Thirdly, the author while taking a step to attract more viewers and to avoid the losses is planning to increase the coverage of weather and local news program. the author has not provided any survey showing that the the exact reason behind the decreasing in revenues and the number of viewers is the change in the late night news program. For instance, if the plan to expand the coverage of weather and local news on all news programs fails, the plan could have an adverse effect on the company.

Although as stated the author's argument is categorically unconvincing. the author could strength the argument were he to have the provided the exact relation of events taking place, some proof about the co-relation, a survey of the viewers to show the exact reason behind the decrease in the viewers. if the author had provided the above information, the argument's reasoning would have much improved. However without these changes, the author's argument is implausible and the reasoning faulty.

In the conclusion, the author presents an interesting but flawed argument. had the author presented as support the above added information the argument would have been persuasive. As it stands, the author's argument is too weak to be true. Hence, i remain unconvinced.