“In a recent citywide poll, 15 percent more residents said that they watch television programs about the visual arts than was the case in a poll conducted five years ago. During these past five years, the number of people visiting our city’s art museums has increased by a similar percentage. Since the corporate funding that supports public television, where most of the visual arts programs appear, is now being threatened by severe cuts, we can expect that attendance at our city’s art museums will also start to decrease. Thus, some of the city’s funds for supporting the arts should be reallocated to public television.”

The editor of the memorandum of a large city council has shown a causal relationship between two entities . he states that in a recent citywide poll fifteen percent more residents said they watch television programs about the visual arts than was the case in a poll conducted five years ago . The editor also shows that the number of people visiting the city arts museum has increased by a similar percentage . The editor further argues that as the corporate funding that supports television is being threatened with severe cuts the attendance at the city's art museum will also start to decrease . he further to avoid the scenario suggests to reallocate the city funds to public television. The underlying argument certainly has merits but due to some faulty assumptions , vague language . The editor's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed . some of the flaws are as follows.

First, the editor has used a reference of similar percentage to show that the two events happening have some relation with each other. For example, may be the increase in the number of people have been due to the extensive marketing by the museum and has no relation with the increase in the number of residents viewing the television programs.

Second, the editor has not shown any statistical proof for the event to be co-related. For instance if the events occurring were independent events . The approach that the editor is proposing to avoid any decrease in the number of people visiting the museums would go fail and have a counter effect on the funds allocated for the museums .

Third, the editor has also assumed that the fifteen percent increase on both the numbers to be same . For example, if the number of people viewing is 10000 five years ago and the number of people visiting the museum is 100 . The fifteen percent increase of both would be 1500 people increase for television programs and 15 people increase for visiting the museum. The figures shown above are not justifiable to show a causal relationship between the two events.

Although the editor's argument has made some faulty assumption . The editor if wants to strengthen the argument could add some statistical proof showing the events to be linked with each other . he could also add the above details . Without these changes the arguments remains implausible and reasoning faulty.

In the conclusion, the editor has given a interesting but flawed argument . Had the editor added some more parameters as the survey details and statistics proving the two events to be related the argument would have been persuasive. As it stands the argument remains weak. Hence, I remain unconvinced.