The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Peter Jones.

“In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Peter

Jones plans to build a multi-million-dollar subway system. The subway will run

through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only

form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about

inconsistent buses and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally,

the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less

time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Peter Jones expects to see an immediate increase in

worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the

implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Adding subway system definitely will improve the transportation in the city but it will not eliminate the problems already existed in the buses, rather than creating some new problems that the society of the town have not faced it before.

The first major issue that will appear from such a move is that the instruction accompanied with establishing the subway will cause the town with more traffic that will make moving within the city insufferable. This whole building movement cannot be finished with a day it will last at least months, a move the inhabitants are fine without it.

A second reason weaken this plan is that the problems in the bus transportation will still exist even if the subway created. A set of real improvements should be taken directly on this type of transportation such: more penalties on the hasty driver to prevent them from any carelessness while driving dozens of lives, and bringing more arrangement within the trips of these buses to avoid any crowd traffic. In the contrary the subway will attract people to use it instead of the buses which will cause them financial problems, such one train need only driver but larger capacity; i.e. less workers.

A third weakness in the plan lies in that the subway will reduce the amount of time in the traffic it might be wrong. Since not all the motorists will use the subway and actually there is no way to figure out the number without really examine the tendency to use the subway. Based in this what the town needs to improve the economy of the town is a more serious solutions concentrated directly in increasing the incomes of the inhabitants.

A forth weakness lies in running the subway 24 hours, it might be economically wrong to spend more many in the subway, let’s say at the midnight, when the number of the people using the train is pretty low. Furthermore the annoyance produced from the subway in the night will disturb the people in what should calm night meant to get some rest.

No one argues with the importance of the subway but the way the mayor thinks this is a solution for problems tangential to the subway is fragile.