The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

manned space flight is certainly costly and dangerous but the opinion has some assumptions that need a closer look. The outcomes of manned and unmanned space missions are different in terms of the analyses that can be done by both of them. The author assumes that a great deal of useful information can be gathered by unmanned space flights. However, with humans on-board the samples can be analysed more critically and minutely.

For example, the human space mission by NASA in 1969 that sent the first humans to the moon, returned with moon rocks that were analysed with more sophisticated equipment which would not have been possible if only unmanned space probes were sent. Talking about equipment, the assumption that the equipment on-board the unmanned space probes are of the same quality as that on earth in the testing labs is also a very lenient assumption. The precision and quality that equipment on earth have is more than any equipment that any unmanned aircraft can carry. So the difference between analyzing samples by the more sophisticated equipment on earth by bringing the samples back to earth and analyzing them with the mobile equipment on the spacecraft is discernible.

humans cannot be supplanted with any machine for works as important as these, for the celerity of decision making of humans is pretty much unmatched. This is also not considered in the letter.

So, assumptions like these can have direct implications on the reports of the analyses of samples which would in turn spread wrong conventions about the space. Therefore, the need for manned space missions is still there as we have not reached that point in technology where machines can make decisions as good and as effectively as humans.