The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of Humana University concludes that Humana University should initiate and actively prompt online degree programs to increase enrollment and solve budget deficits. However, the president supports his conclusion based on two assumptions, that dramatically weekend the argument.

First, are Omni University and Humana University roughly comparable? The author assumes that both universities are comparable, but the author did not mention anything about that. There is a potential Omni University has a great reputation and Humana University has not any reputation at all. Humana University's studies methods are not standard; thus, the student does not want to enroll in Humana University. Even if, Humana University initiate and actively prompt online degree programs there is no guaranteed enrollment of student will increase and they will be able to solve the budget deficits problem. Hence, the original argument of the president does not hold water.

In addition, Are the dorm and classrooms expenditures the only problem of budget deficit? The president presumes that expenditures of dorm and classrooms are the only problem of the budget deficit. But president failed to provide any justification for those expenditures. It is possible that the dorm and classrooms expenditures are not the only problems for the budget deficit, there could be more problems for the deficit of the budget. Nonetheless, the author did not present any systematic research study that can help to identify the problem of the budget deficit. Thus, the author's argument is not fully persuasive.

In conclusion, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its relation to several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can provide more evidence (perhaps a systematic research study) then it will be possible to evaluate the viability fully.