The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

The author claims that following the idea of increasing the number of online degree programs will result in an increase of enrollment and solve its budget problems. Stated this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and jumping to conclusions. To justify the claim, the author cites Omni University and how implementing the same plan in that university has led to favorable results. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete and unsubstantiated at best.

First, the author readily assumes that online degree programs are as effective as the in-class degree programs. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, conducting a survey to get feedback from students on which kind of classes, classroom or online, they find productive. Results might show that students prefer in-class courses to online for the accessibility to the professors after class for clarification of doubts. Some students may prefer actually going to the university for a variety of reasons like the lively ambience of the college or the feasibility of using the university’s library. If results of survey prove that students enjoy in-class degree programs better, the prediction made by the president does not stand effective anymore. In fact, it could result in decline in enrollment.

On closer observation, one can notice how the author readily attributes the decrease in enrollment to in-class programs. This reflects poor judgement as the author failed to consider several other factors that could be potential reasons for the fall in enrollment. For instance, the courses offered at the university might be outdated and simply not be of interest to the students anymore. Or, the professors teaching at the university might not be of adequate qualifications compared to other universities. To evaluate whether that’s the case, the author should conduct a Q&A session where students can openly discuss their issues with the college. Instead of taking a leap to the conclusion, the president can carefully analyze the student body issues and evaluate a relevant and effective prediction accordingly.

Finally, the author mentions that a lot of the expenditures go in to the dormitories for enrolled students and from this premise, he concludes that on-line programs will help in reducing in-class enrollment and further reduce the costs in accommodations. However, in doing so, the author failed to consider the possibility of low hygiene in the hostels resulting in decline of enrollment by students. If a part of the budget could be spent in the maintenance of the dorms, students might simply prefer Humana University over the others just for the sake of good hygiene. The president instead of looking for factors that resulted in fall of numbers, should look for ways to keep the current students attracted to Humana University.

To conclude, the president’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the president must take into account all the relevant factors, perhaps the student’s interests in the kind of courses they want to take up or the downsides of online degree programs. Finally, it is critical to consider all the relevant factors that play a role in better evaluation of the prediction. Without addressing the above-mentioned factors, the author’s recommendation remains unsupported and futile.