Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

I do not agree with the statement that inducing a sense of competition in students for high grades will motivate them to perform well in the classroom. Admittedly, for some students, a competitive spirit will motivate them to work towards excellence. I, nonetheless, believe that such competition has its own limitations in the sense that, it limits the quality of learning and pose serious threats to mental well being of the students. Hence, I strongly oppose the concept of competition for high grades to push students for doing better in the school.

I would like to explore its effects on the quality of learning. According to me, a student’s true learning equals his/her thorough understanding of the subjects in the classroom and their ability showcase their understanding in their exams. However, under duress for high grades, the students might ignore the true meaning of learning and simply decide to mug up answers to score marks in their tests. For example, in my experience as a student, there was a point where I was in desperate need to score a good grade otherwise I would have to repeat the course next semester, but I had less time for going through the entire notes. So I decided to just mug up the proofs that I certainly believed would come in the test. Had I not had the pressure of scoring the minimum grade, I would have spent more time understanding the concepts well.

Furthermore, I think competition for high grades will also instill a sense of fear in the students. While, a student might thrive in a competitive environment, he/she might also fall prey to fear of losing marks that comes along with it. Competition might motivate the student to become a top scorer but he/she might have to live with the pressure of doing well in the subsequent examinations since it is now “expected” of them. For illustration, my friend who was the top ranker of my batch during my Bachelor’s program always stayed up the whole night studying the same concepts over and over again in the fear of missing out on some detail. Such stress in students will lead to long-term lifestyle diseases like insomnia. To avoid such mental health hazards, competition for high grades should be discounted in academics.

Finally, when it comes to pursuing career opportunities, these days many firms do not give much importance to student’s performance in his/her courses. They seem to care more about whether students showcase analytical thinking and problem solving techniques in their interviews. For example, in my interview process for a job application, the interview panel could not care less for my grade card. They only wanted to check if I am fit for their job. Schools and colleges should realize this fact and promote application oriented learning rather than instilling competition among children which will prove ineffective in future. After all, students are striving for a good career and that can be promised by only the quality of their learning and not their grade cards.

In conclusion, students in a competitive environment might collapse under stress for good grades. While competition for high grades might motivate some students to perform better, it has also various side effects like health damages and inefficient ways of learning. In order to create a conducive atmosphere for students, schools and colleges should explore for better ways of learning, perhaps by focusing on more lab time for practical application oriented learning. After all, practical understanding is what is appreciated for a good career.