The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Cellphones have in recent times gotten most individuals addicted to it that they keep on texting while at dates and while walking on the roads which might cause accidents but this does not conclude or justify that banning cellphone while walking will reduce accidents.

Banning cellphones in centreville might not reduce the reported incidents of sidewalk crime because it worked in middletown doesnt mean it will also work in centreville. Middletown might be a town with very educated people that listen and obey laws as opposed to centreville that might be a city majorly occupied by artisans and craftsmen, this will be very difficult to prove the ban will take effect and produce desired outcome as artisans and craftsmen in centreville might persist in using cellphones on sidewalks.

The population of middletown also might be very less compared to population at centreville and as such the ban took effect at middletown considering the less population, while a very high or increase in population at centreville might still have increased cases of sidewalk rage even when the cellphone ban has been placed.

Considering having same level of educated people who obey laws and increased population in both cities, a cellphone ban on the walkway may not reduce the incidents of sidewalk crime as middletown after the ban might not be hearing complaints of sidewalk crime doesnt mean they do not happen or have gone down significantly.

A ban of cellphone on sidewalk in centreville might not reduce the incidents of sidewalk crime as the criteria given for middletown lacks basis.